Outlaws out of reach for Mavericks

first_imgMen’s open:Queensland Country Outbacks 7 def NSW Country Mavericks 4.The Outlaws have broken free and they took the men’s Elite Eight trophy with them.In an upset of sorts, Queensland Country knocked off not one but two of the fancied men’s open teams to win the division for the first time.The Outlaws defeated two-time finalists NSW Mets 12-9 in the semi-final and followed it up by knocking off the defending champions, NSW Country Mavericks 7-4.Queensland Country captain Daniel Withers has been playing at the NTL for 15 years and he has never won the big one.He now has and it was a welcome relief.“We have such a great and young group of kids here,” the player of the match said.“We always had that internal belief and after day one we were obviously disappointed, but we knew if we stuck to that policy and stuck to our game plan, we would come up trumps.”The Outlaws drew their three games on day one and found their winning feeling on Thursday and never looked back.They did not let the Mavericks in with a chance.“We had a really good game plan. We played them the other day and we really had a good think about how we could beat these guys,” he said.“We came out here executed it perfectly and got the win at the end of the day.”From the first minute, it wasn’t going to be Mavericks’ day.Dylan Thompson was assisted off the field after he suffered a shoulder injury.It rattled the champs as the Outlaws scored two touchdowns before Dylan Hennessey’s show-and-go got NSW Country on the board.Luke Simmons made it 2-all in the 19th minute but the killer blow came after.Shaun Francis and Jayden Benbow scored within 30 seconds of each other to put the Outlaws up 4-2 at half-time.NSW Country Matthew Prowse tried to rally his troops by scoring a touchdown himself.But the Outlaws scored the next three touchdowns.Corey Whitaker scored a consolation touchdown for the Mavericks but the Outlaws had already cleaned out the safe.“The distance [of travel] between us in what we have to go through to get here is simply amazing. It’s full credit to these guys here,” Withers said.Withers was named player of the final and the player of the series was Queensland South Stingrays’ Peter Norman.Touchdowns: Outlaws 7 (Jayden Benbow 2, Shaun Francis 2, Daniel Withers, Lachlan Pierce, David Zanette); Mavericks 3 (Dylan Hennessey, Matthew Prowse, Corey Whitaker, Luke Simmons).Men’s open final timeline:10th minute Outlaws 1-0 Mavericks – Daniel Withers touchdown.15th minute Outlaws 2-0 – Lachlan Pierce touchdown.16th minute Outlaws 2-1 – Dylan Hennessey touchdown.19th minute 2-all – Luke Simmons touchdown.20th minute Outlaws 3-2 – Shaun Francis touchdown.20th minute Outlaws 4-2 – Jayden Benbow touchdown.Half-time – Outlaws 4-2.25th minute Outlaws 4-3 – Matthew Prowse touchdown.30th minute Outlaws 5-3 – David Zanette touchdown.33rd minute Outlaws 6-3 – Jayden Benbow touchdown.37th minute Outlaws 7-3 – Shaun Francis touchdown.39th minute Outlaws 7-4 – Corey Whitaker touchdown.You can keep up-to-date with all of the latest news and information from the 2014 X-Blades National Touch League in the following ways:Websiteswww.ntl.mytouchfooty.comwww.austouch.com.auSocial MediaFacebook – www.facebook.com/touchfootballaustraliaTwitter – www.twitter.com/touchfootyaus (be sure to use the hashtag #NTL2014)Instagram – www.instagram.com/touchfootballaustraliaYouTube – www.youtube.com/touchfootballausRelated LinksMen’s open final By BEN HARRISlast_img